WaPi “Move”

Unfortunately, I took a long time away from the WAPi blog, essentially, to get ready for WAPi. WAPi Move took place on Saturday, July 25, 2009, and was attended by 550 people. This is definitely a huge deal for the WAPi team as we nearly doubled our attendance from the WAPi launch event on May 30, 2009.  WAPi move incorporated words, pictures, and dance into the event and it was a huge success. But I would just like to take a moment with you to share that for some of the organizers we rarely get to see a whole event in its entirety. I was so busy trying to take care of little things that would ensure the event ran smoothly that I missed the whole open mic poetry, heard the mic club from a distance, never really interacted with the visual artists. I was simply able to watch the tail-end of the dance off competition. I only found out all the goings-on of the event when I read it in the paper. I am just waiting for the documentary rough cut so I can really see what I missed out on. All I know is the event was off-the-chain.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

